Bits and bobbets


Go China!

I know, it’s a long time ago since I wrote something here, but there wasn’t much inspiring stuff around me. Just books, I’ve been busy studying.. I know school, and books, and studying, even studying can be inspiring. But not now..

Well but what was inspiring was Go China! in the Groninger museum, in Groningen, The Netherlands (where else).

In summer I went to Assen already, there was also a part of Go China! but it was the old stuff, including some pieces of the Xi’an Army which were absolutely amazing!!

but well in Groningen it was just modern art, and I loved it even more then the Xi’an stuff!!

a few examples:

Liu Jianhua
Yiwu Survey, 2006-2007

Leung Mee Ping

Miao Xiaochun a lovely piece but I forgot the name, I’m sorry that I don’t post a bigger pictures, I stand watching this piece for like 10, 15 minutes, maybe even longer, everytime you see something new!!

Shi Guorui, picture of the birds nest. It’s awesome!! He/She has more pictures like this hanging there and I love them so much! Why? just the colors, or better lack of colors.

and then my absolutely favourite, the pictures of Xing Danwen!!

and again I don’t know the name, but just look at it!! first thing you see it just a model of an appartment. and then you see the the dead person!! Or people making out, fighting, or having a car crash.

close up off the picture above!

So do you like modern Chinese art or not? I have to say, I fell in love with it, I really want to see more! So I guess if I ever go to China (and I will go there) I have to visit some museums with modern art.

If you want to see this with your very own eyes and if you are in the Netherlands, go to the Groninger Museum you can see this till 23th of November.

p.s. I’m probably going to see the diamond skull of Damian Hirst since it’s in het Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam. I’m so exited!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

