Bits and bobbets


Random art
September 30, 2008, 6:14 pm
Filed under: Art, website | Tags: , , , , , ,

yes there is such thing as random art. where? well at random-art.org.

I just stumbled upon it while I was looking for well, random art.

how random art works? well here it goes

When the program is run it first chooses a random name. From the name it generates a mathematical formula which describes the color of each pixel in the picture. The program then uses the formula to generate the picture. The same name always determines the same picture.

If you still don’t understand it, take a look at this

ovsena ruvaja

t sturjotve

super tramp 1979

tell me do you like it? would you put it on your wall? or not? I think I would I like it a lot!!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi are there any papers written about the aesthetics of random art? What is the criteria you would use to judge one piece better than another?
Thanks,
Kaz

Comment by Kaz Maslanka

I don’t think there is one, at least I couldn’t find one, and I judged the paintings based on their colors since I like colors best, but also where the shapes were placed. if the red shape in the second picture would be placed in the middle it wouldn’t be that good. and if all the round shapes in the first picture were also in the right corner4 it would be boring. But I think every painting has people who like it and who don’t, it’s all about personal taste

Comment by bitsandbobbets




Leave a Reply

